TERENO is managed by the TERENO Coordination Board, which is a group of four coordinators from the research centres FZJ, UFZ, KIT and GFZ.


Dr. Heye Bogena
Institute of Bio- and Geosciences, IBG-3: Agrosphere
Forschungszentrum Jülich
52425 Jülich

Dr. Steffen Zacharias
Department Monitoring and Exploration Technologies
Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ
Permoserstraße 15
04318 Leipzig

Dr. Ralf Kiese
Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research, IMK-IFU
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Kreuzeckbahnstrasse 19
82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Dr. Markus Schwab
Centre for Geoecological Research
GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences
14473 Potsdam



Contents of the web site of the TERENO project

The web site of the TERENO has been compiled with due diligence. However, the TERENO neither guarantees nor accepts liability for the information being up-to-date, complete or accurate.

Links to External Websites

The web site of TERENO contains links to external third-party web sites. These links to third-party sites do not imply approval of their contents. TERENO has no influence on the current or future contents of these sites. We therefore accept no liability for the accessibility or contents of such websites and no liability for damages that may arise as a result of the use of such content.

Data protection

Every time a user accesses a web site hosted by Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH and every time a file is requested, data connected to these processes are stored in a log. These data do not contain personal information; we are unable to trace which user accessed what information. Personal user profiles therefore cannot be created. The data that is saved will be used for statistical purposes only. This information will not be disclosed to third parties.

Hosting site

The web site of TERENO is hosted at

Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
52428 Jülich

Delivery address:

52428 Jülich

Entered in the Commercial Register of the
District Court of Düren, Germany: No. HR B 3498
Value Added Tax ID No. in accordance with § 27
a of the German VAT Law (Umsatzsteuergesetz): DE 122624631
Tax No.: 213/5700/0033

Board of Directors:

  • Prof. Dr. Astrid Lambrecht (Chair of the Board of Directors)
  • Karsten Beneke (Vice-Chairman)
  • Prof. Dr. Ir. Pieter Jansens

Supervisory Board:

Ministerialdirektor Stefan Müller

Responsible in the sense of § 18, Abs. 2, Medienstaatsvertrag (MStV):

Prof. Dr. Harry Vereecken (Head of the institute)

Forschungszentrum Jülich IBG-3
52428 Jülich


General inquiries: +49 2461 61-0
General fax no.: +49 2461 61-8100
E-Mail address:

Last Modified: 21.06.2024